Assam election: half of the 40 new candidates within the first checklist of Congress get an opportunity, the social gathering additionally expressed confidence in them

Guwahati: Half of the 40 candidates for which the Congress has launched the primary checklist for the meeting elections in Assam are new. The social gathering will seek the advice of the household of former Chief Minister late Tarun Gogoi earlier than finalizing the candidate’s identify for the state’s Titabor meeting seat. Gogoi was elected MLA for 4 consecutive phrases from this seat.

New faces get an opportunity
Polling can be held in 47 meeting seats within the first part on March 27 within the state. The Congress on Saturday evening launched the primary checklist of 40 of them. The social gathering has 20 new faces and 6 sitting MLAs in its first checklist. These embrace the identify of Congress Legislature Celebration chief Debabrata Saikia, who has been nominated from Najira.

BJP’s eye on Titabor!
On the identical time, BJP is eyeing the distinguished Titabor seat, whereas the Congress needs to retain its seat. Tarun Gogoi, who was the Chief Minister of the state thrice, was an MLA from this seat. He died on November 23 final 12 months attributable to issues following Kovid. Aside from Titabor, Tinsukia, Dhakuakhana, Behali, Dhing and Bokakhat seats, Nauboicha seats with AIUDF account are but to be introduced.

They bought the ticket once more
A Congress spokesperson instructed {that a} resolution can be taken about these seats quickly. A few of these seats can be given to the alliance companion. Aside from Saikia, the MLAs who’ve been re-nominated embrace Rakibul Hussain from Samaguri, Mo from Rupohihat. Nurul Huda, Roopjyoti Kurmi from Mariani, Rosalina Tirkey from Sarupathar and Doma Durga Bhumij from Dumduma.

Yet one more likelihood for losers with much less margin
State Congress president and Rajya Sabha member Ripun Bora will contest from Gohpur meeting seat, the place his spouse Monika Bora was defeated by the BJP candidate by practically 30,000 votes. The social gathering has additionally given tickets to 12 candidates, together with 4 ladies, who misplaced within the 2016 meeting elections by a slender margin. These embrace Rana Goswami from Jorhat, Sushant Bargohain from Thura, Suraj Dihingia from Mahmara, Bhupen Kumar Bora from Bihpuria, Praneshwar Basumatari from Sutiya, Dhrujan Gogoi from Duliajan and Etuwa Munda from Tigkhang.

These ladies candidates expressed confidence once more
On the Majuli seat, the social gathering has renominated Ranoj Kumar Pegu, who had represented it thrice since 2001 however misplaced to Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal by 18,000 votes within the 2016 elections. The social gathering has once more given tickets to 4 ladies from the identical meeting seats on which that they had misplaced within the final election. These candidates embrace Pranati Phukan from Naharkatiya, Bismita Gogoi from Khumtai, Pallab Gogoi from Tiok and Angkita Dutta from Amguri.

Voting will happen on these dates
The social gathering has not too long ago fielded Ram Prasad Sarma, former BJP chief and Congress MP from Tezpur, who joined the Congress from Barsola seat. The Congress-led grand alliance in Assam contains AIUDF, BPF, CPI-M, CPI and Zonal Gan Morcha. Voting can be held on March 27, April 1 and 6 for the 126-member meeting seats within the state in three phases.

learn this additionally

Congress releases first checklist of 40 candidates for Assam, social gathering will contest 87 seats

Priyanka Gandhi joined the farmers mahapanchayat, stated – BJP authorities is exploiting the farmers


Comment here